Student and Graduate Profiles

M.D./Ph.D. Student Profiles

MD_PhD_Student_Bansal_Prakhar_portrait

Name: Prakhar Bansal

Hometown: North Haven, CT

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, M.S., Structural Biology, Biochemistry, and Biophysics

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: pbansal@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_MarcBenoit_portrait

Name: Marc Benoit

Hometown: Quincy, MA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Clark University

Degree: B.A., Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: mbenoit@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_RedwanBhuiyan_portrait

Name: Redwan Bhuiyan

Hometown: Jamaica, NY

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Wesleyan University

Degree: B.A., Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Neuroscience and Behavior

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: rbhuiyan@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_BrandonByrd_portrait

Name: Brandon Byrd

Hometown: Port Allen, LA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Louisiana State University

Degree: B.S., Biochemistry

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: bbyrd@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_TimofeyKarginov_portrait

Name: Timofey (Tima) Karginov

Hometown: Westmont, IL

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Chicago

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: karginov@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_JosephMasison_portrait

Name: Joseph (Joe) Masison

Hometown: Bethesda, MD

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Computer Science, B.S., Physiology & Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: masison@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_PatrickMcMullan_portrait

Name: Patrick McMullan

Hometown: Easton, PA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: Rochester Institute of Technology

Degree: B.S., Biomedical Science

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: mcmullan@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_student_YaraSkaf_portrait

Name: Yara Skaf

Hometown: Baden, PA

Entering Year: 2017

Undergraduate Institution: University of Pittsburgh

Degree: B.S., Chemistry, Mathematics, Molecular Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Area of Concentration: Undecided

Email: skaf@uchc.edu

Arianna, Gianluca

Name: Gianluca Arianna

Hometown: Jackson Heights, NY

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: City University of New York Hunter College

Degree: B.A., Chemistry, Special Honors Curriculum

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: arianna@uchc.edu

Geyer, Rory

Name: Rory Geyer

Hometown: Redding, CT

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: geyer@uchc.edu

Marazzi, Lauren

Name: Lauren Marazzi

Hometown: Wayne, NJ

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: Connecticut College

Degree: B.A., Bioinformatics

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: marazzi@uchc.edu

Leclair, Nathan

Name: Nathan Leclair

Hometown: Southington, CT

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: nleclair@uchc.edu

Rheaume, Bruce

Name: Bruce Rheaume

Hometown: Litchfield, NH

Entering Year: 2016

Undergraduate Institution: University of New Hampshire

Degree: B.A.,Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: rheaume@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Jennifer_Chung_portrait

Name: Jennifer Chung

Hometown: Brooklyn, NY

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: New York University

Degree: B.A., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: jchung@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Feria_Ladha_portrait

Name: Feria Ladha

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: McGill University

Graduate Institution: Johns Hopkins University

Degrees: B.S., Anatomy and Cell Biology, M.S. Public Health

Thesis Advisor: Undecided

Email: ladha@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Peter_Larson_portrait

Name: Peter Larson

Hometown: New Canaan, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Pathobiology

Thesis Advisor: Julia Oh, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: plarson@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Anthony Pettinato

Name: Tony Pettinato

Hometown: Monrovia, MD

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: J. Travis Hinson, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: pettinato@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Kristin_Tokarski_portrait

Name: Kristin Tokarski

Hometown: Naugatuck, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Stormy Chamberlain, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: tokarski@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Laura_Urbanski_portrait

Name: Laura Urbanski

Hometown: Noank, CT

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: College of the Holy Cross

Degree: B.A., Cursu Honoris, Chemistry

Thesis Advisor: Olga Anczukȯw-Camarda, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: lurbanski@uchc.edu

 

MD_PhD_Student_Victor_Wang_portrait

Name: Victor Wang

Hometown: Rockville, MD

Entering Year: 2015

Undergraduate Institution: University of Maryland

Degree: B.S., Bioengineering

Thesis Advisor: Jeffrey Chuang, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: vicwang@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Michael_Chung_portrait

Name: Michael Chung

Hometown: Valley Stream, NY

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: SUNY at Binghamton

Graduate Institution: SUNY at Binghamton

Degrees: B.S., Biochemistry,
M.S., Chemistry and Biology

Thesis Advisor: Stormy Chamberlain, Ph.D. and Gordon Carmichael, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: chung@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Katherine_DiScipio_portrait

Name: Katie DiScipio

Hometown: South Glastonbury, CT

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: University of Chicago

Degree: B.A., Biological Sciences

Thesis Advisor: Sandra Weller,Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Molecular Biology and Biochemistry

Email: discipio@uchc.edu

 

MD_PhD_Student_Grace_Kwon_portrait

Name: Grace Kwon

Hometown: Beaverton, OR

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: Washington State University

Degree: B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor: Adam Williams, Ph.D. JAX-icon

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email: grkwon@uchc.edu

Wasko,Nicholas_JGelineau6488s

Name: Nick Wasko

Hometown: Redding, CT

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree: B.S., Physiology and Neurobiology

Thesis Advisor: Robert Clark, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: wasko@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Maria_Xu_portrait

Name: Maria Xu

Hometown: Morgantown, WV

Entering Year: 2014

Undergraduate Institution: Harvard University

Degree: B.A., Chemical and Physical Biology

Thesis Advisor: Anthony Vella, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email: marixu@uchc.edu

MD/PhD student Allie Goetjen

Name: Allie Goetjen

Hometown: New Milford, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degrees: B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology, M.S., Molecular and Cell Biology

Thesis Advisor: Jon Covault, M.D., Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Genetics and Genome Sciences

Email:  agoetjen@uchc.edu

 

MD_PhD_Student_Sarah_Pan_portrait

Name: Sarah Pan

Hometown: Burlington, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: University of Hartford

Degrees: Bachelor of Music (BM), Piano Performance, B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Guo Fong, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email:  span@uchc.edu

 

MD_PhD_Student_Russell_Posner_portrait

Name: Russell Posner

Hometown: Greenwich, CT

Entering Year: 2013

Undergraduate Institution: Duke University

Graduate Institution:  New York University

Degrees:  B.A., Chemistry,
B.S., Mathematics, M.S., Mathematics

Thesis Advisor: 
Reinhard Laubenbacher, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Analysis and Modeling

Email:  rposner@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Jeremy_Grenier_portrait

Name: Jeremy Grenier

Hometown: Thomaston, CT

Entering Year: 2012

Undergraduate Institution: McGill University

Degrees:  B.A. and B.S., Biology

Thesis Advisor:  Kamal Khanna, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email:  jgrenier@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Joseph_Ryan_portrait

Name: Joe Ryan

Hometown: Shrewsbury, MA

Entering Year: 2012

Undergraduate Institution: University of Massachusetts

Degree:  B.S., Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chemistry

Thesis Advisor:  Anthony Vella, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email:  joeryan@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Albert_Yu_portrait

Name: Albert Yu

Hometown: Los Angeles, CA

Entering Year: 2012

Undergraduate Institution: University of California, Berkeley

Degree:  B.A., Molecular and Cell Biology, Public Health

Thesis Advisor:  Lixia Yue, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email:  alyu@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Allen_Mo_portrait

Name: Allen Mo

Hometown: Berkeley Heights, NJ

Entering Year: 2011

Undergraduate Institution: Colgate University

Degree:  B.A., Chemistry

Thesis Advisor:  Daniel Rosenberg, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Biology

Email:  mo@uchc.edu

 

MD_PhD_Student_Julia_Svedova_portrait

Name: Julia Svedova

Hometown: Stupava, Slovakia

Entering Year: 2011

Undergraduate Institution: Trinity College

Degree:  B.S., Neuroscience

Thesis Advisor:  Anthony Vella, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email:  svedova@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Alex_Adami_portrait

Name: Alex Adami

Hometown: West Hartford, CT and Kitty Hawk, NC

Entering Year: 2010

Undergraduate Institution: Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Degree:  B.S., Information Technology

Thesis Advisor:  Roger Thrall, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email:  aadami@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Emily_Anstadt_portrait

Name: Emily Anstadt

Hometown: Buffalo Grove, IL

Entering Year: 2010

Undergraduate Institution: University of Wisconsin

Degree:  B.S., Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Thesis Advisor:  Robert Clark, M.D.

Area of Concentration: Immunology

Email:  eanstadt@uchc.edu

MD_PhD_Student_Cliff_Locke_portrait

Name: Cliff Locke

Hometown: Orange, CT

Entering Year: 2010

Undergraduate Institution: University of Connecticut

Degree:  B.S., Biomedical Engineering

Thesis Advisor:  Ji Yu, Ph.D.

Area of Concentration: Cell Analysis and Modeling

Email:  clocke@uchc.edu

JAX-icon = The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine affiliated faculty